

### **School Governance**

### What do School Governors do?

We have six meetings a year; three Full Governing Body meetings where we are supported with a clerk from the Local Authority and three Full Governing Body Business meetings.

Three other meetings are business committees

The Chair of Governors is Emma Paine.

There are three main responsibilities for governing bodies as a whole.

- Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction The governing body should agree the strategic priorities, aims and objectives for the school and agree the policies, plans and targets for how to achieve them. They should monitor progress and review regularly their strategic framework for the school in the light of the progress.
- Hold the Head teacher to account It is the role of the Governing body to support and strengthen the head teacher's leadership and to hold them to account for the performance of pupils and staff. This is particularly important in relation to the educational performance of the school.
- Oversee school finances Governing bodies are responsible for making sure their school's money is well spent. They should do this by making sure that they have at least one governor with specific skills and experience of financial matters, and by asking questions.

Each governor has a link role within the school, these are Performance Management and Appraisal, Child Protection, SEND, Health & Safety, Complaints, Governor Training, Key Stage link governors, Pupil Premium, RSHE and PE.

## Who Are the Governors?

Name of Governor	Туре	Start date	End date	Pecuniary interest declared	Governance roles in other schools
Emma Paine Chair of Governors	Co-opted	01.02.20	31.01.24		
Helen Zobel Vice Chari	Co-opted	06.11.18	05.11.22	Chair of Friends of Leen Mills	
Kate Edwards	Parent	10.03.20	09.03.24		
Karen Goldson	Staff Head teacher	1.4.20			
Katie Tomlinson	Co-opted	01.02.21	31.01.25		
Hannah Lindahl	Parent	04.01.21	03.01.25		
Zipporah Kruse	Parent	14.03.22	13.03.26		
Karen Whilde	Parent				

Previous Governors (the past three years)

Name of	Туре	Start date	End date	Pecuniary	Governance
Governor				interest	roles in other
				declared	schools
Louise Dean	Parent	10.03.20	23.11.21		
			Resigned		
Jo Denyer	LA Governor	01.01.17	31.12.21		
			Resigned		
Cathy Pascoe	Co-opted	02.07.2013	21.03.22		
			Resigned		
Keith Barnes	Co-opted	14.03.17	13.03.21	Related to	
Vice Chair				K.Goldson	
				(DHT)	
Damian	Co-opted	25.06.18	24.06.22		
Cooney					
Russell Tew	Staff	01.09.13	30.04.22		
	Head teacher				
Glenn	Staff Governor	01.09.19	31.8.23		
Hutchinson	(elected)				

Parent Governors are elected from the parents of the school, local authority governors are appointed by Nottinghamshire County Council, co-opted governors are invited onto the governing body and staff governors are voted by the staff of the school and include the Head.

All of the governors undertake their role on a voluntary basis – our time is given willingly to benefit the school and the children.

There is a Governor board in our meeting room where you can find information

#### Governor Attendance 2022-23

Name	Pay	Business	Business	Business	FGB	FGB	FGB
	committee	committee	committee	committee	Autumn	Spring	Summer
		Autumn	Spring	Summer			
Emma	٧	٧	٧	Α	٧	٧	٧
Paine							
Helen Zobel	٧	٧	٧	٧	٧	٧	٧
Glenn		٧	٧	٧	٧	٧	٧
Hutchinson							
Karen	٧	٧	٧	٧	٧	٧	٧
Goldson							
Kate	٧	٧	٧	٧	٧	٧	٧
Edwards							
Katie		NA	NA	NA	NA	NA	NA
Tomlinson							
Zipporah		٧	٧	٧	٧	٧	٧
Kruse							
Hannah	Α	٧	٧	٧	٧	٧	٧
Lindahl							
Karen		٧	٧	٧	٧	٧	٧
Whilde							

A = Apologies received NA – No apologies received

# Governor Attendance 2023-24

Name	Pay committee	Business committee	Business committee	Business committee	FGB Autumn	FGB Spring	FGB Summer
	Autumn	Autumn	Spring	Summer	Autumn	Opinig	Summer
Emma	٧	٧					
Paine							
Helen Zobel	٧	٧					
Karen	٧	٧					
Goldson							
Kate	٧	٧					
Edwards							
Katie		NA					
Tomlinson							
Zipporah		٧					
Kruse							
Hannah	٧	٧					
Lindahl							
Karen		٧					
Whilde							